The world is pretty in pink…plus…sometimes it even sparkles

not quite as bad as a post-it

It was over text message mid-day at work a week and a half ago on a Friday.

“I think we should break up”

I was not shocked nor upset. As I decided for myself that this wasn’t going to work either.

With that said, he didn’t have the common decency to call me or see me. It had been 6 days since we last spoke to when he texted me. Sure there were emails and texts but not anything of significance was discussed – good or bad.

But after three and a half years.

Break up by text message.

How would you feel?

Of course after the weekend he had a change of heart. I agreed to meet him at a park down the road four days later.

He said the following:

“I love you. I want to marry you. I don’t know why it takes us not being together for me to realize that I haven’t been good enough. But you haven’t been perfect either.”

My brain translated it as this: “I want what I can’t have. So I want you.”

I said this: “we just aren’t on the same page and I can’t keep doing this dance”

I stood my ground. I didn’t cave. I walked away.

A week later. I have no regrets about it.

He still texts me “I miss you” “I’m thinking of you”

Although I’m not closed to the idea to revisiting the option of rekindling something maybe a year from now, however, I honestly don’t see that happening. I love him as a friend.  For the most part we’ve had a good time. I think the problem with our relationship is that I am not “in love” with him at this time. Not sure that will ever change. I only hope for the best for him.

I know I will find the best for me.

Comments on: "not quite as bad as a post-it" (2)

  1. Have I really been reading your blog for over 3.5 years!? He did this last time. He needs to get his act together.

    • The difference from a year ago is my confidence that this is not the relationship for me at this time in my life, I will not be swayed by his need to divulge his “love” for me while we are no longer together. I cannot be wooed that easily. He kinda killed the trust factor. next 🙂

Comments are closed.

