The world is pretty in pink…plus…sometimes it even sparkles

“It’s not that I didn’t love myself before. Sometimes we don’t realize that we are compromising ourselves. To understand that a person is not good for you, or that that person is not treating you in the right way, or that he is not doing the right thing for himself—if I stay, then I am not doing the right thing for me. I love myself enough to walk away from that now.” – Jennifer Lopez, Vanity Fair, August 2011.

Yes. I just quoted Jennifer Lopez’s. Can’t wait to read the rest of the article.

Only difference, aside from me not being married, is I shoulda walked away months ago instead of the situation that happened only 6 weeks ago. Maybe then he wouldn’t have been a complete and utter a$$hole.

Who am I kidding…it would be the same sh!t, just a different pile.

shoulda, woulda, coulda.

 

Comments on: "Can’t believe I’m quoting her." (4)

  1. fabulouslyinboston said:

    Ok…let me be the armchair psychologist here….there is a silver lining in all of this: You KNEW 6 months ago….you just didn’t execute…5 years ago, you probably wouldn’t have known 6 months before it needed to be over.

    I remember a long time ago when I was in treatment for eating disorders and all kinds of other shit like, you know, cutting and suicide attempts and what not, I remember saying to therapist “Ok, so I just had this thought again and I realized that I was putting myself done.” and he’s all “that’s awesome” and I said “how the hell is that AWESOME. I still was an asshole to myself” and he said “yes, but 6 months ago, you didn’t even know that voice existed….”

    So, celebrate that your gut knew 6 months ago…:) I think that’s awesome. And yea, fuck him.

    • i get ya! I hear ya! i am working on forgiving myself. and yes i knew in my heart i just didn’t want to believe it nor was i financially able to leave. but a lot happened in 6 months and now i realize he doesn’t know the difference between right and wrong and loves to pin all the blame on me for everything or mock me or do things just to get a reaction out of me. it’s really unbelievable how childish he is…oh wait…he says i’m the childish one. i think i’m overwhelmed and frustrated by his lack of compassion and his inablity to feel anything for anyone other than himself. how did i get here???

  2. fabulouslyinboston said:

    Maybe the question is not how you got there. You got it together, darling:) Forgiving yourself is the one thing you have to do. And you will. You have good clarity. Unfortunately you cannot do much about him being a dick, except accepting he’s a dick 🙂

Comments are closed.

