The world is pretty in pink…plus…sometimes it even sparkles

so…who matters?

Be who you are and say what you feel because those who mind don’t matter and those who matter don’t mind. ~ Dr. Seuss
My new friend J. told me this quote by Dr. Seuss in light of that in-depth convo I had on my birthday that I didn’t really get into but alluded too without any detail with this one friend of mine.
I have not been one to quote Dr. Seuss, although I am a big fan of Green Eggs and Ham.
But it makes sense. It makes a heck of a lot of sense.
I’m not prepared to blog about the conversation. What I am prepared to say is that we all have choices. We all choose whether to speak, to not speak. We all choose on what we want to say and what we don’t. And we all choose on how we handle such things. I do not handle such things well sometimes. In fact, one of my faults [which I’m acutely aware of] is my inability to let things role off my back and have certain things or people not matter. So now do I over think and wonder if this person’s opinion matters? Do I go as far to wonder if this person matters in my life? Is he an important part of my world?
These are things I haven’t had time to really sit down and answer, nor have I wanted to. But some of my closests friends old and new have said that the conversation should not have happened on your birthday even if you asked whatever questions. Too bad I don’t remember the questions. Too bad I don’t even remember the good times or saying goodbye to my friends. To my friends that matter. And to remember the quote that J. said, because it makes me think of things less analytically ironically enough and more practically.
I already have enough on my plate that I need to deal with [15 years of repressed emotions towards family…WHOOT!] and I think it’s a fair thing to ask, if a friend who minds, does he/she really matter in the bigger pictures?
Another saying that gets floated around in my head – friends are friends for a reason and sometimes they are here for only a season. So…was this a friend for 2 years and that’s it? It’s also this persons call too.
Either way though, I have to take care of me, god forbid because that is so selfish of me…but if I don’t who will?
Comments on: "so…who matters?" (1)

  1. Valerie said:

    I LOVE that Dr. Seuss quote and I can completely relate to what you said about not being able to let things roll off of your back and worrying too much about what certain people think/feel about you. I, too, suffer from this problem and am trying very hard to adopt an "if people don't like me for who I am, then life is too short to worry about them" attitude. It is difficult and I am failing miserably thus far, but here's to trying. From what I know of you from your comments on my posts, you are a tremendously sweet and supportive person, and you SHOULD be yourself and take care of yourself. I know, easier said than done šŸ™‚

Comments are closed.

