The world is pretty in pink…plus…sometimes it even sparkles

My "Little" Family

“Family is there no matter what and for that they deserve so much more. More visits, more phone calls, more of my attention in general.” My cousin Amy of TriThinkingPink.

Although the context surrounding Amy’s statement does not correlate with how I view this statement, I couldn’t have said it any better and it honestly doesn’t matter what the context is really.

For a few years now I have been contemplating how involved with my immediate and extended family I have wanted to be. Numerous reasons [none of which I’m prepared to go into] have played a role in the disconnect that I feel I have with this little family. Regardless of the differences with my mother, she will always be there the best she can.

In the past 4-5 years I have made an effort to figure out my place and how I would “fit” and be included with the extended family. This isn’t a little family by any means with around 20 members at the last “in-law” xmas festivity that I was able to go to. And it continues to grow, not with great grandchildren but with spouses coming on board in the next couple of years. I do think I have figured out where I fit in and how to stay involved and that is with “buggin” the cousins 🙂

I think one of the best things about my little family, is that the majority of us like each other and don’t keep secrets from one another. Besides the fact that we may not see each other all that much, my cousins [specifically those in the pic below] and I are friends…I think [They might inform me otherwise upon reading this…hehehe :)]. Also family is always there when you need it.


The uber cool thing about the entire family, including all the aunts and uncles and nana, is the laughter that is shared and the humour that we all provide. Here’s to keeping the laughter going!

Cheers!

